MMx098 Wild Man Riddim – s/t

Wild Man Riddim is one of the finest reggae/ska-influenced bands in Norway today, and it’s an absolute pleasure to release some of their music on MarsMelons. Here’s the lowdown from Martin;

Brage Rognlien needed a band to perform rythmic music for club nights at The Villa. Brage and Martin called old friends and suddenly a band with Oslo´s finest ska/reggae musicians was founded. The band performed several night at The Villa focusing on compositions by Brage, old jazz standards with a jamaican twist with lots of space for improvisation. People might say it´s a fine mix between ska/reggae/jazz/worldmusic influences.

The band later performed as backing band for Essa Cham, Kasimba, Nico D, Admiral P, Jah Ark Manifest and several other vocalists at Horten Reggae Festival in the summer of 2013.

In december 2013 the band went to Silvertone studios to record their first selftitled LP. The setting was minimalistic and straightforward: recorded live in the same room over to hectic days, with nearly no overdubs and editing to preserve the live feel the best way possible. The result was 11 tracks, mostly originals written by Brage and Caspersen. Two well known jazz standards (with a WMR twist) also made it on the record. Essa Cham and Bunzy D contributed on vocals and gave the record the final touch it needed.

Recorded by Rune Jørgensen at Silvertone. Mixed by Kristoffer Follestad at Cantus studio. Mastered by Nils H Mæhlum. All songs written by Brage Rognlien and Martin Caspersen except Cantaloupe (H.Hancock) and Night in Tunisia (Dizzy Gillespie).

01. Breskus Rex
02. Cantaloupe Island
03. Sofienbergparken
04. A Night In Tunisia
05. Big Difference
06. Halloween Ska
07. Elevate Yourself
08. The Fall And The Rise of The Mighty
09. Iron Fist

Stream from Spotify Download Full Release

MMx048 Thomas Bergsten – Clouds & Pieces That Will Flip Your Lid

‘Clouds & Pieces That Will Flip Your Lid’ is a collection of acoustic and electro acoustic compositions by Thomas Bergsten. There are artistic considerations behind these recordings that the ramblings of an outsider wouldn’t do just, so here are Thomas’s own words describing the various pieces;

‘The Sun (May 12th 2010 –Oslo)’ is a recording of the 2010 version of this minimalistic piece, a chord that moves by the help of three rules;

Where the sun is in the sky determines the root (ranging from one octave from any C). How far from the place you are performing The Sun, the city to be played in determines the dynamics (or power of the chord, if you will). How long from today’s date the date being played determines how long to sustain the chord.

Performed on the 12th of may 2010 at Brown Dude, Project Loft.

London14. aug 1973 08:41
Toronto 18.mars 1995 07:15
Sydney 21.desember 2012 12:17
Longyearbyen 7.juni 1905 11:56
Sofia 17.mai 1933 13:36
New Delhi 11.september 1969 12:18
Berlin 23.juli 1953 14:13
Tel Aviv 2.februar 2004 17:15
Osaka, 22. Oktober 1945 14:13
Here & Now

‘The Sun’ was performed by Lars Oskarsen (Glockenspiel), Jan Roger Antonsen (Accordion), Kristine Marie Aasvang (Flute), Line Grenheim (Violin), Stefan Remen (Bass) – conducted by Thomas Bergsten.

‘Study of Music Under Water’ is a piece arranged by Thomas Bergsten and recorded by Jana Winderen in Sandvika, December 2008. Kristine Marie Aasvang plays the flute and Thomas Bergsten the guitar. The piece is the sound of improvised music played LOUD above the ice, recorded by two hydrophones and a pair of stereo microphones hanging from a tree. The underwater sound is emphasized both during recording and mixing.

‘Cloud #2 in Bb for 5 Electric Baritone Guitars’ – Clouds are pieces consisting of one chord with long duration. This cloud is a short version and is to be considered a test. Although real clouds can disappear in a blink of an eye, these clouds should last for at least an hour.

‘Repetitions And Variations In Eb For Sax and Electronics’ – This piece evolves around an Eb major chord (sampled from a string sextet) and three independent sax improvisations in different transpositions. Original, octave down and two octaves down. The string chord is repeated for the total duration of the piece.

The saxophones are arranged like this:

#1 – Original – 8vb – 15vb
#2 – 8vb – 15vb – Original
#3 – 15vb – Original – 8vb

‘Broadcasting Suburbia’ – This piece consist of two live pirate radio broadcasts spaced a couple of minutes apart on February 22nd 2012, between 1pm and 1:30pm. Both broadcasts were live broadcasts from the local area using a transmitter connected directly to a field recorder. The first broadcast was with a very low volume setting, so that the reciver might think of it as just a bad signal from their radio.

The second one had the field recorder gained up loud, making it recognizable as ambient sounds, and also making the louder parts of the field recording distorted. To document the broadcasts I used a radio/cassette deck and recorded the broadcast two and old tape (The Public Enemy – 911 is a joke single). Broadcasted on and around FM 88,7.

‘The Sun (River)’ – This is The Sun played by six rivers at high noon. A 2011 version of The Sun.

Artwork by Thomas, slightly edited by Morten.

01. The Sun (May 12th 2010 –Oslo)
02. Study of Music Under Water
03. Cloud #2 in Bb for 5 Electric Baritone Guitars
04. Repetitons And Variations In Eb For Sax and Electronics
05. Broadcasting Suburbia (Low Volume)
06. The Sun (River)
07. Broadcasting Suburbia (High Volume)

Stream from Spotify Download Full Release

MMx047 Wasserfall – Edits

Wasserfall has been gaining some serious speed lately, having released a wonderful EP for Greta Cottage Workshop earlier in the year, and continues his forward roll with a fine set of tracks for MarsMelons. This four piece release consists of four lovely crafted edits of songs by Adele, Håkon Kornstad, Feist and Big Chief (feat. Red Velvet) respectively. From the almost acapella version of Adele’s ‘Turning Table’ through the jazzy ‘Oslo’ (by Kornstad) and the playful ‘Tout Decement’ (by Feist), these edits ooze of the quality we have come to know Wasserfall’s work by.

Unfortunately, the track ‘Feist – Tout Decement (Wasserfall Edit)’ can not be streamed, due to a copyright infringement claim by Spotify – so make sure you download it. Artwork by Morten.

01. Adele – Turning Tables (Wasserfall Edit)
02. Håkon Kornstad – Oslo (Wasserfall Edit)
03. Feist – Tout Decement (Wasserfall Edit)
04. Big Chief Featuring Red Velvet – I’ll Be Running From The Law (Wasserfall Edit)

Download Full Release

MMx011 Gunerius Quack – Too Cool For Art School

The ‘Gunerius Quack’-moniker has been used mostly in collaboration with what remained of Ganjibiri, called ‘Dom Andra’, but this time, Gunerius goes solo. ‘Too Cool For Art School’ is not a typical Gunerius Quack release.

When asked in an interview with Norwegian newspaper ‘Morgenbladet’ what kind of music he played, Gunerius absently replied; “It’s a kind of hard psychedelic free guitar/trumpet recording. Inspired by the Tetuzi Akiyama record, ‘Don’t forget to boogie!’, and picking up a trumpet for the first time. Sooner or later it will all fall down, and the acoustic experimenting of Gunerius Quack will come.” Artwork by Morten.

01. Golfing In Buckingham Palace
02. Walz For Louise
03. Too Cool For School
04. Apples
05. Trip To Milano

Stream from Spotify Download Full Release